Skip to Main Content

2020 Appointments and Retirements

Bishop Sally Dyck announces the following clergy appointments for the Northern Illinois Conference of The United Methodist Church effective July 1, 2020 (unless noted otherwise):

January Announcements

Fredrick (Fritz) Bartels (Elder) to retirement from Joliet: Grace (Aurora District).  Fritz became a probationary member in 2008 and full Elder 2010.  During his ministry he served at Green Garden, Polo: Emmanuel, East Jordan, Crete and Joliet: Grace.

Rosalee Blake (Deacon) to retirement from Agape Healthcare in Denver, Colorado.  Rosalee became a consecrated Diaconal Minister in 1991 and a full Deacon in 1997.  During her ministry she served Naperville: Grace, as Media Resource Librarian for the Northern Illinois Conference, and as a chaplain for St. Joseph Hospital in Denver, Boulder Community Hospital in Boulder and Agape health care in Denver.  Effective March 1.

Paul Judd (Elder) from Medical Leave to Leave of Absence.  Effective February 1.

Paul (Nick) Nicholas (Deacon) to Medical Leave from appointment to Naperville: Community (Aurora District).  Effective January 1.

Robert Biekman (Elder) to the Metropolitan Chicago Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America as an Associate to the Bishop and Director for Evangelical Mission from Chicago: Maple Park (Chicago Southern District) (1/2 time) and Urban Ministry Coordinator (1/2 time).  Effective January 1.  

Ken Roh (Elder) to Mokena (Aurora District) (1/4 time) while remaining at Frankfort (Aurora District) (3/4 time).

Shalamar Molina (District Superintendent Supply) to Red Door Church (New Faith Community) (Chicago Northwestern District)(1/4 time).  Effective January 1. 

Richard Carlson (Elder) to retirement from Elgin: First (Elgin District).  Rick became a probationary member in 1982 and a full Elder in 1984.  During his ministry he served at Crystal Lake: First (Associate), South Elgin: Community, Dixon: First, Bolingbrook: Crossroads of Faith, Barrington: Salem and Elgin First.

Jan Comerford (Elder) to retirement from South Elgin: Community (Elgin District). Jan became a probationary member in 1990 and a full Elder in 1996.  During her ministry she served Kirkland, Hinsdale (Associate), Genoa: Faith, McHenry: First, Belvidere: First (Associate) and South Elgin: Community.

Cecelia Swafford Harris (Elder) to retirement from Waukegan: First (Elgin District).  Cecelia became a probationary member in 1994 and a full Elder in 1997.  During her ministry she served Chicago: St. Mark (Associate), Hazelcrest: Community, Chicago: St. Matthew and Waukegan: First.

Charlette (Char) Hoffmann (Elder) to retirement from Antioch (Elgin District).  Char became a probationary member in 1996 and full Elder in 1998.  During her ministry Char served Polo: Emmanuel, Evergreen Park: First, River Forest, Villa Park: Calvary and Antioch.

Kolleen Klemmenson (Elder) to retirement from appointment under ¶ 345 to another denomination.  Kolleen became a probationary member in 1993 and a full Elder in 1996.  During Kolleen’s ministry she served Ohio: Red Oak, Elmhurst: Christ and Albany before beginning her service with the United Presbyterian USA.

Jerry Martz (Local Pastor) to retirement from appointment to Brookville/Elkhorn (DeKalb District) where he served since 2008.

Mary Steinwandt (Local Pastor) to retirement from Mokena (Aurora District) where she served since 2016.

Irene Taylor (Elder) to retirement from DesPlaines: First (Elgin District).  Irene became a probationary member in 1998 through recognition of Orders from the Progressive Baptist Church, and a full Elder in 2001.  During Irene’s ministry she served Riverdale: Ivanhoe, Waukegan: Living Faith and DesPlaines: First.

News & Announcements