Skip to Main Content

Lay Servant Ministries

Lay Servant Ministries

Lay Servant Ministries is one of the most significant lay leadership development programs already available within the United Methodist Connection. Through this system of equipping and empowering, lay servants have the opportunity to grow as disciples of Jesus Christ who then go and make other disciples. See the forms and resources below for more information on the Lay Servant Certification Process, including requirements to become a Certified Lay Speaker.


All Lay Servants must submit a report of their ministry activities at their Church/Charge Conference.

Electronic Process

Click here for instructions

Submit Lay Servant Report


In 2016 the General Conference of The United Methodist Church approved legislation to change paragraphs related to Lay Servant Ministries and Certified Lay Ministry to bring about clarity, consistency, and collaboration. The adopted legislation streamlines and simplifies the processes for people to become certified lay servants, certified lay speakers, and certified lay ministers. This will bring the number of categories to three: certified lay servant, certified lay speaker, and certified lay minister. These changes are reflected in the new brochure. Click to download.

The Lay Servant Academy is a comprehensive developmental program for laity that helps people identify their calls to ministry and develop skills in caring, leading and communicating ministries. It is often the turning point for lay people who are seeking to offer significant service to both church and community. Training sessions are held throughout the conference. If you feel called to serve your church in a more formal leadership position, we hope you’ll join the 600+ Lay Servants in our conference.

You may participate in any District’s Academy, regardless of what District in which you currently reside or are a member.

Please visit our calendar for Lay Academy dates, course options, and more information.


Conference Director of Lay Servants: Peggy Hansen

Lake North Director: Shaun Barton

Lake South District Director: Irma Clark

Prairie Central District Director: Rae Kipper

Prairie North District Director: Steve Schiller

Prairie South Director: TBD

Lay Missioner: Ramiro Rodriguez 773.972.3143 

CLM Representative: Vacant

Committee List

News & Announcements