Skip to Main Content


Rev. Darneather Murph-Heath

Rev. Darneather Murph-Heath

Welcome! Bienvenido! Hwan Young! to the Elgin District!

Elgin is a district that encompasses both urban and rural congregations, large and small. The beautiful Fox River meanders through the district and is a centerpiece of the city of Elgin, one of the fastest growing cities in Illinois. The district's jurisdiction covers sixty-five local churches, led by seventy-two elders, deacons, licensed local Pastors and Lay Missioners.

The sixty-five churches include two federated congregations, three Latino-Hispanic congregations, four new Latino-Hispanic new faith communities and six Korean congregations ranging in size from 20 to 1,200+ members. The ministry of the Elgin District is inclusive and spirited celebrating the gifts of people of all ages and of all ethnic, racial and economic groups.

The vibrancy of language reflecting the ethos of the various congregations is a unique tapestry of our dedication to "Open Minds, Open Hearts, and Open Doors". The imprint of the early circuit riders is celebrated as many Elgin District churches have recently celebrated 175 years of mission and ministry. You are invited to join us as we diligently strive to share the Good News of God's love for the world through Jesus Christ.

Archived Newsletters

About Us

We are home to 65 United Methodist Congregations from Addison to Zion in both urban and rural communities. The Elgin District Superintendent is the Rev. Darneather Murph-Heath. To reach her, see contact information below.

District Contacts
77 W. Washington Street, Suite 1820
Chicago, IL 60602
Phone: 312. 346.9766

District Superintendent
Rev. Darneather Murph-Heath
ext. 786

Administrative Assistant
Debbie Rogers 
ext. 732

Lay Leader

UMM President
Jim Nelson

UMW President
Lois Voss

Mission Secretary
Rev. Steve Mindrup

News & Announcements