The Bishop, ministry groups and committees honored clergy and laity who exemplified the meaning of to “walk by faith” at this year’s annual conference.


Rev. Dr. Chris Pierson received the Bishop Jesse R. DeWitt Award from United Voices for Children as well as the Peace with Justice Award from the Conference Board of Church and Society for his many years of ministry advocating for children and justice issues in the conference. (photo by Marc Dean)



Barrington United Methodist Church received the Philip Otterbein Award for “highest amount given” to Rainbow Covenant Advances in 2015. (photo by Marc Dean)


Christ United Methodist Church in Lockport received the John Wesley Award for “highest capita giving” to the Rainbow Covenant Advances in 2015. (photo by Marc Dean)



Beth Palmer received the Katherine B. Greene Award from United Voices for Children for her deep compassion and work at Epworth UMC’s Inspired Youth Tutoring Program and Inspired Youth Singers. (photo by Marc Dean


Darryl Wertheim received the Rev. Margaret Ann Williams Service Award for his faithful leadership to the Faith UMC youth sports program in Orland Park. (photo by Marc Dean)



Executive Director Laurie Vial accepts the Bishop’s 2016 Ecumenical and Interreligious award for the Illinois Conference of Churches.

Print Friendly